Monday, December 07, 2009

Trick? Revit into Saving To New File...

So in this post: Save To New File... we spoke about getting views out to new files, from the right click... There seems to be a what appears like a trick to fake Revit out when that choice is unavailable (greyed out): While it seems more like the views that have this availability are related to Drafting (and schedule) items...

By simply placing a Detail Line in an RCP or Plan one can (magically) save out views (
the choice becomes available)... It actually works quite nicely, even though it's baffling... AKA: status quo for Revit... :-).

Don't forget to delete the Detail object(s), once finished saving the view(s) out as new files!!!

1 comment:

  1. Isn't that a weird feature? There are some baffling things going on when Revit selects what to save to that new view as well. See my post from awhile back for a deeper look.

    http://whosafraidofthebigbadbim.blogspot.com/2008/10/save-that-view-for-later.html

    ReplyDelete